About Natalia
Our Team
Chess Links
Play Chess
Pogonina's Chess Shop
Contact Us


 Follow Natalia on Twitter:


Please help Natalia promote chess by making a donation:



chess live ratings

Link to

Play chess at ChessOk Biggest Online Chess Games Database


What's your FIDE rating?

What should Natalia do to make more interesting for you?

Who is your favorite active top player?

Poker or chess: what do you like more?

What's the largest monetary chess prize you ever won?

How much time per day do you spend on chess-related activities?

Do you have a special chess mascot (pen, badge, toy, etc.)?

Which time control do you prefer for over-the-board tournaments?

The strongest women's chess team in the world is

What is the strongest national chess team in the world?

Will Magnus Carlsen's rating reach FIDE 2900?

Do you think you can become a GM?

Congratulations to Abhijeet Gupta on winning the Arjuna Award

User Rating: / 3
Written by Administrator   
Monday, 19 August 2013

GM Abhijeet Gupta (Indian grandmaster, Commonwealth champion, winner of individual silver medal at the Chess Olympiad) has received an Arjuna award.

The Arjuna Awards were instituted in 1961 by the government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports. The award carries a cash prize of INR 500,000 (roughly $8,000), a bronze statuette of Arjuna and a scroll.

The list of winners in 2013:

Virat Kohli (Cricket),
Chekrovolu Swuro (Archery),
Renjith Maheshwary (Athletics),
P V Sindhu (Badminton),
Kavita Chahal (Boxing),
Rupesh Shah (Snooker),
Gaganjeet Bhullar (Golf),
Saba Anjum (Hockey),
Rajkumari Rathore (Shooting),
Joshna Chinappa (Squash),
Mouma Das (Table Tennis),
Neha Rathi (Wrestling),
Dharmendra Dalal (Wrestling),
Abhijeet Gupta (Chess)
Amit Kumar Saroha (Para sports)

Bookmark and Share

Be first to comment this article

Write Comment
BBCode:Web AddressEmail AddressBold TextItalic TextUnderlined TextQuoteCodeOpen ListList ItemClose List

Code:* Code

Last Updated ( Monday, 19 August 2013 )
< Prev   Next >